At Communities In Schools, we work in schools full time to remove those barriers by building one-on-one relationships that empower students to stay in school and succeed in life. Because we’re in schools all day every day, we see the unique needs of each student and partner with teachers and the community to address them. Whether it’s clean clothes, help with schoolwork, or emotional support to help a child cope with and recover from a traumatic event, we connect students with the relationships and resources they need to succeed.

Communities In Schools of Clark County (CIS of Clark County) is a nonprofit organization-serving students throughout Clark County, Indiana. We are one of 187 local affiliates of the national organization Communities In Schools.

Stay Updated

Office Staff

Executive Director
null

Michelle Allen

Director of Programming
null

Nicole Stone

EDL Program Director
null

Amy Campbell

Information Specialist

Trina Oltman

Financial Manager
null

Mariah Mayfield

Secondary After School Program Manager
null

Amanda McLendon

Elementary After School Program Manager
null

Kaylee Gildersleeve

Marketing Coordinator

CIS of Clark County employs over 90 full and part-time staff helping students succeed on a daily basis.

Board of Directors

2019 BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Dr. Polly Hendricks, OD (Chair)
Optometrist
phendricksod@twc.com

Josh Kornberg (Vice Chair)
Ivy Tech Foundation
jkorberg@ivytech.edu

Dr. Marcia Segal (Secretary)
Indiana University Southeast (retired)
msegal@ius.edu

Dayleen Ragains (Treasurer)
German American Bank
dayleen.ragains@germanamerican.com

Kara Brown
Center for Lay Ministries
kara.brown@cwfempower.org

Vicki Carmichael
Clark County Judge
vcarmichael@co.clark.in.us

Walt Coppinger
Realtor – Advisor Realty
walter.coppinger@gmail.com

Dr. Kim Hartlage
Greater Clark County Schools
khartlage@gcs.k12.in.us

Dr. Cathy Johnson
Indiana University Southeast
johnscat@ius.edu

Kenny Kavanaugh
City of Jeffersonville
kkavanaugh@cityofjeff.net

Randy Koetter (Advisory)
Koetter Woodworking Company
randyk@koetterwoodworking.com

Sandy Myers
Silver Creek Primary
smyers@westclarkschools.com

Chip Pfau
George Pfau & Sons, Inc.
cpfau@pfauoil.com

Greg Scales
First Savings Bank
gscales@fsbbank.net

Garrett Smith
Shepherd Financial
gsmith@shepherdfin.com

Kevin Smith
Siemens Industry, Inc.
kevinl.smith@siemens.com

Amy Wheatley
Attorney-at-law
amy@nicksteinlaw.com

Partner Opportunities

Partner Opportunities

Learn more about how you can Partner with CIS of Clark

Volunteer Opportunities

Learn more about open how you can become involved as a volunteer.

College Opportunities

Learn about open Internship and Work Study opportunities

Our Mission

The mission of Communities In Schools is to surround students with a community of support, empowering them to stay in school and achieve in life.